Phone: 312-573-0800 • Fax: 312-573-0573
Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Real Reviews on Our Downtown Chicago Hotel

Browse our Chicago hotel reviews below, illustrating the success of past visits:

From TripAdvisor -- Jan 23, 2014

"Perfect hotel for a weekend in Chicago"

Stayed at this hotel over a very snowy weekend in Chicago. The rooms were lovely and big, with very comfortable beds as well. Plus the location can't be beat! With a Starbucks in the lobby and a Garrett popcorn shop literally next door, it's a wonderful way to start the day of shopping on the Magnificent Mile. Staff were very friendly and happily stored our luggage and arranged an airport transfer for us as well. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Chicago

- Kassie C (Southhampton, England)

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g35805-d286793

From TripAdvisor -- Dec 2013

"Another wonderful stay"

This was my second time at the hotel and it covered expectations as my previous stay. Perfectly located a block from Michigan Ave and next to a self parking which is a plus (it is internally connected so no freezing during this last snow storm). I was greeted very nicely by the front desk lady and the check in literally took a minute.
The room had a great view of Michigan Ave which is one thing I requested. A normal, clean and nice room with two queen beds, work desk, nice LCD TV with HD channels and a mini fridge. The bathroom also very clean and the perfect size. WiFi worked perfectly and could even watch some streaming video with no freezes.
This property hasn't disappointed me yet again and will continue to stay whenever I come to Chicago for a weekend. Perfect location, perfect service, great rooms.

- Nicolas M (Buenos Aires, Argentina)

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g35805-d286793

From Orbitz -- Dec, 14, 2013

"Clean & Fabulous Service"

I had an amazing experience. The rooms were very clean and the staff was amazing. A storm came in the day I was flying out and they did everything they could to keep me updated on the weather updates and even held my luggage so I wouldn't have to drag it around with me after our check out date. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel Tons of shopping just steps away.

- BKEliingburg (Houston, TX)

http://www.orbitz.com/App/ViewSpecificHotelLP?masterId=62427#reviews

From Exedia -- Nov 4, 2013

"Perfect location for doing everything!"

Everything you could possibly want or need all within walking distance. PERFECTLY PERFECT!!

- Tayze K (Jackson, MI)

http://www.expedia.com/h982517.Hotel-Information#reviews

From TripAdvisor -- Sep 2013

"Outstanding Service"

From the moment we arrived the staff made the stay memorable. They were attentive to our needs and being that my luggage was left at the airport the hotel staff did everything possible to assist in my getting it back. The room was great, the food service was just as good. They provided sightseeing tips, restaurant suggestions and great ideas for making my visit to Chicago one for the book of best trips memories. They treated us as though we were the only customer in the hotel. Something tells me they do that with each guest and they do it well.

Great location, close to shops and sights.

Thank you to a great staff.

- Sandy B (San Diego, CA)

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g35805-d286793

From TripAdvisor -- July 2, 2013

"Superb service in a great location"


The level of service we enjoyed during a four-night stay was as good (or better) than any hotel we've used in forty years as guests. Every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Great food in the Viand restaurant, truly magnificent waiters and front desk staff (and management) who really care. Five star hotel.

-- Ian S (Crawley, United Kingdom)

http://revinate.me/hfA

From Expedia -- July 14, 2013

"Near Magnificent Mile shopping"

Good: The staff made this hotel a great place to stay!
Bad: The pool water was a little cold.
Location Tip: Shopping at Magnificent Mile less than a block away, within walking distance to Navy Pier and John Hancock Observatory.
Very nice, clean hotel; but the staff was what made this hotel a 5-star stay for us. Everyone was extremely kind and super helpful. This was my first visit to Chicago and I was a bit overwhelmed trying to determine where to visit during our stay and where to eat. The staff recommended places to eat and all were exactly what we wanted; they also told us how to get from place to place (ie, cab, bus, etc.) and were always so willing to go out of the way to be of assistance. Great staff!

-- Sara S (Indiana)

http://revinate.me/ccp

From TripAdvisory --- June 2013

"Girls' Weekend"

My mother, sister, and 2 daughters stayed here in June, and it was another wonderful experience at this Courtyard. The staff were able to accommodate all 5 of us in one room and there was plenty of space for all of us and our luggage. The staff were professional and very friendly, the room was spotless, the free wifi is a bonus as is the Starbucks in the lobby. Looking forward to a return in the fall.

-- Crisys (Windsor, Canada)

http://revinate.me/rOV

From Hotels.com -- July 2013

"Great location"

We loved the location - it was close to shopping, trolleys, taking in the sites of the architecture and Navy Pier. We would highly recommend this clean Marriott. Hotel desk, concierge, and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The whole area around the hotel had lots of flowers and very clean and we felt safe walking at night. Lots of shopping near by.

-- Shelly Z (US)

http://revinate.me/gcZ

From TripAdvisor -- June 27, 2013

"BEST Location, Rooms, and Staff!"

This is easy- I would love to stay at a hotel just like this one in any and every city I visit! The location is perfect, just off the Magnificent Mile, in the middle of it- halfway to all the action up north, and south! Easily walk to everything. Starbuck's: on the bottom floor- what a bonus! Requested upper floor, so we had some view, and it was pretty quiet. Beds were divine, and room and bathroom spacious, and immaculately clean. Fast elevators. Chic lobby. But the best part was the staff- so helpful, always available to answer questions, welcoming, smiling, attentive. Neil, Harry, David, you were all so amazing, so friendly and helpful. And Jen! Writing a list of vegetarian restaurants AND ideas and tips for home meals for my newly vegetarian daughter? Wowsie! I almost hate to tell the whole world about this place, but from other reviews, the word is out, anyway. Perfect in every way. 

--FlowerGalAZ (Gilbert, AZ)

http://revinate.me/rKZ

From TripAdvisor -- June 4, 2013

"Extremely Satisfied Visitors"

No reason not to stay here - it's in the heart of downtown right off the Magnificent Mile and close to metro, river stops, & trolley stops. Don't left the address fool you. It's a better rate than the Marriott with the exact same services. There are bellman, a concierge on duty from at least 7am-9pm on weekdays, extremely helpful front desk, clean & quiet rooms AND fast elevators. Very easy walking to major activities. Concierge is very helpful (order things like trolley passes from them on-site to get a discount). And as we walked in late from the Hancock Tower on our last night, we got a hankering for something sweet. We asked the front desk and low & behold turns out there was a 24 hr Baskin Robbins/Dunkin' Donuts on the other side of the hotel. To quote my boyfriend, "they should really advertise that point." 

-- Laura Y (Winston Salem, NC)

http://revinate.me/fa1

From TripAdvistor -- April 17, 2013

"Commitment to excellence"

This is my eighth night at this establishment and it is rarely that you receive such consistent and high quality commitment to the guest's experience. All of the staff, from the cleaners to the managers, were dedicated to providing a quality experience. The food in the restaurant was of a consistently high standard be it breakfast or dinner and the friendly, natural and obviously happy staff added to the experience. I've stayed in most of the top hotels in Chicago but for overall experience, this is the one I'll be coming back to. Well done and thank you for. Great stay. 

--Morleyb

http://revinate.me/pA3

From Yelp -- April 12, 2013

I am VERY PLEASED with this hotel. I can express how great it was staying and working with this hotel.
Here are a few reasons why I will definitely go back to this hotel.
1) Location. Just a block away from Michigan Ave. and right next door to Garrett's Popcorn!
2) Staff. Excellent and always willing to help. The bell hop with up to our room within 5 minutes of calling. They held our packages (about 6 of them) and always informed me right when they arrived. Our banquet caterer was excellent also. So if you need to have meeting space, this place is very convenient. The meeting rooms are downstairs and away from hotel traffic. Sales and catering staff are also wonderful! They went out of their way to make everything for our group seamless. I did not have any problems at all.
3) Gym and Pool. I visited 2 higher end hotels in Chicago and they did not have a pool. This one is a good size and free!
4) Really good catering menu. Our board members and staff loved it.
5) Bar and restaurant attached to hotel. Just in case you need a quick drink.
6) BIG rooms. I had the double queen room and it was bigger than my apartment!
7) Paul Mitchell amenities. Shampoo, Conditioner and Body Lotion. Good size for the avid traveler.

I think I've made my point clear.

-- Grace P. (Foster City, CA)

http://revinate.me/cQk

From Expedia -- April 7, 2013

"Highly Recommend"

Good: Service
Bad: Nothing.
Location Tip: Great location.
This is a nice property, in a great location, at a reasonable cost. The staff at the hotel was superb. When my taxi pulled in the bellman was there to get my bag. Check in was immediate and very welcoming. I ordered room service and the food and service were great. Later, at the bar, the service was once again superb. At the end of
my stay, after I checked out, the bellman hailed me a cab immediately. From start to finish my expectations were exceeded at this hotel. I've stayed in far pricier and more upscale hotels without receiving service like I did at the Chicago Courtyard. Highly recommended.

-- Dr. B (NY)

http://revinate.me/iQR

From TripAdvisor -- March 24th, 2013

"Great Location"

This is a quality hotel with a great location. We found the service great and had no problems during our stay. The location close to Michigan Avenue allows you to walk to most locations. There are several quality place to eat within two blocks of the hotel. The shopping is great and Garretts is located down the block. Safety is not a concern.

-- Rich B (Madison, Wisconsin) 

http://revinate.me/eNO

From TripAdvisor -- March 2013

"I'm Sold!"
A tremendous blend of location, value, and hospitality, this is officially my preferred hotel when staying in downtown Chicago. It's obvious the General Manager stresses the importance of customer service to the staff. Every interaction with a hotel employee was both pleasant and professional. Although I have been to Chicago several times, this was my family's first visit to the Windy City. I'm grateful to the hotel staff for making it a memorable event! By the way, if you're planning on spending all of your time downtown, don't get a rental car....the hotel is in a prime location!

-- Joshuaas (Houston, Texas)

http://revinate.me/aNZ

From TripAdvisor -- March 2013

"Perfect Location"

Not knowing Chicago at all I was taking a leap of faith when I booked this hotel. I had a meeting at the McCormick Place convention center which was 15 minutes away. This hotel has a Starbucks off the lobby, across the street a dunkin donuts, 7-11, great restaurants all with in a block of the hotel including the capital Grill diagonally across the street and for casual a Fridays one block away. Michigan ave is a block away with all the high end stores. The Lobby is appointed in black marble very high end when you walk in. The rooms have flat panel TVs, internet and very clean and modern. Should I ever turn to Chicago I now know the perfect hotel to stay at!

-- Steve (US)

http://revinate.me/aNY

From TripAdvisor -- February 2013

"Great Stay"

The location was great, as many have said. My sister and I stayed three nights and the room was big enough for us to have plenty of space. The sinks outside of the restroom area was convenient. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. There's a coffee maker in the room and a Starbucks off the lobby. Price was great - especially compared to other hotels in the area. We would definately stay here again.

-- SLOREE (San Antonio, Texas)

http://revinate.me/aNa

From Priceline -- February 25, 2013

Each staff member was friendly, professional, and acted as though we were their only consideration. Very great experience! Beautiful hotel, good location (next door to Garrett's), and amazing staff. Super clean and safe.

-- Rebecca (Traverse City, MI)

http://revinate.me/hNH

From Hotels.com -- February 2013

Was in walking distance to everything you needed. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were so comfortable and very clean. Would stay there again in a heart beat. From the words of my 11 year old daughter that was with me. This hotel is awesome, I want to live here.

-- Anita (US)

http://revinate.me/q7J

From Expedia -- December 10, 2012

"Wonderful Hotel for Girls' Shopping Trip!!!"


Good: The staff and location
Location Tip: Perfect location, 1/2 block from Magnificent Mile
We traveled here on a girl's shopping trip and wanted to be close to the Magnificent Mile (for convenience and safety). I spent so many hours looking through reviews, photos, etc. of so many hotels trying to find the best one for a decent price. I'm so happy we chose this hotel. The location is literally half a block from Michigan Ave, and the hotel was exceptional. Every single person we dealt with during our 2 day stay was incredible. So nice and so helpful (from check-in, to general questions, to area information, to restaurant recommendations). I had read that the parking was expensive, and yes, the public garage next door was $41/day, but it was so convenient. When we got there, we parked, rode the elevator down to the lobby, and didn't need the car again until we left. Everything you could possibly need is close by. It was well worth it. And they took all of our bags to the garage and loaded our car when we left, even though it is not techically their garage. They were continually busy, but ALWAYS helpful with a genuine smile. We had a wonderful trip, and they only enhanced the experience!

-- Kristi (Indianapolis, IN, USA)

http://revinate.me/jOP

From TripAdvisor -- February 2012

“Wonderful surprise!!”
What a pleasant surprise this hotel was. I was nervous about the quality of the hotel, due to the wonderful cost for a downtown hotel, but now I'm thrilled with what a great deal we found. The location is wonderful, close to everything! The Starbucks in the lobby is small, but very efficient! Rooms are on the smaller side, but tastefully decorated and very clean. Staff and management were all exceptional and helpful! We will book again on our next trip!!

Read the Review

“GREAT VALUE”
UNBELIEVABLE QUALITY FOR THE PRICE. Comfortable beds, clean, friendly service. This hotel is convenient to everything in the heart of downtown. It has a fabulous restaurant adjacent to it, as well. I highly recommend this hotel.
Stayed February 2012
Read the Review

“Excellent Hotel, Great location”
We stayed for one night earlier this week. The room was spacious and well maintained. Good big screen TV. Front desk staff was wonderful. There's a Starbucks' in the lobby. We had a nice breakfast in the restaurant. It's just steps away from Michigan Avenue with lots of choices for restaurants and shopping. Elevator from the self-park garage drops you off inside right by the lobby.
Stayed March 2012
Read the Review

From Google Places
“Great room, great rate, terrific location”
The best was the staff, extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you Robert (the doorman) and Ken (concierge), you were the best. I will definitely stay and again and recommend. Liked: Rooms, Service, Location, Value
Stayed December, 2010
Read the Review

Online Reservations

Reservation info

Special Rates & Awards